Becoming a Program Reviewer

Program reviewers are selected by the Specialized Professional Associations (SPAs) whose program standards have been adopted by NCATE (e.g., NAEYC, CEC, NCTE, NCTM). Each SPA selects and trains its reviewers in conjunction with NCATE staff. Program reviewers are expected to be knowledgeable about the standards of their SPA, as well as the program review process as administered by NCATE.

If you are interested in becoming a program reviewer for your professional association, contact your SPA representative (See SPA Contacts below).

Qualifications

All program reviewers must (1) undergo training in the standards of their SPA as well as the NCATE program review process, and (2) have access to theInternet and basic technology skills. Reviewers must also adhere to NCATE’s Code of Conduct. Individual professional associations may have additional qualifications and expectations for reviewers.

Nomination Process

Program reviewers are nominated by the specialized professional associations (SPAs) whose national standards in their specialized field have been adopted by NCATE for use in its accreditation process. For more information on how to become a program reviewer in your discipline, contact the program review coordinator (See SPA Contacts below) for that association.


 Print   
SPA Contacts


American Association for Health Education (AAHE)
Yasmeen Taji-Farouki
YTaji-Farouki@shapeamerica.org
Tel: 703-476-3400

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
Judith L. Shrum
jshrum@actfl.org
Tel: (540) 320-0499

American Library Association (ALA)
Laura Dare
ldare@ala.org
Tel: (312) 280-2435

Karen Lynn O'Brien
kobrien@ala.org
Tel: (312) 280-2434

Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI)
Banhi Bhattacharya
bbhattacharya@acei.org
Tel: (202) 372-9986 x13

Jeri A. Carroll
jeri.carroll@wichita.edu
Tel: (316) 978-6865

Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT)
Thomas E. Blevins
tblevins@bluefieldstate.edu
Tel: (304) 325-2181

Association for Middle Level Education (Formerly National Middle School Association) (AMLE (NMSA))
Kenneth McEwin
mcewinck@appstate.edu
Tel: (828) 963-4641

Lienne F. Medford
lienne@clemson.edu
Tel: (864) 250-8891

Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
Kathlene S. Shank
ksshank@eiu.edu
Tel: (217) 581-5315

Deborah A. Ziegler
DEBZ@cec.sped.org
Tel: (703) 264-9406

Educational Leadership Constituent Council (ELCC)
Honor E. Fede
hfede@naesp.org
Tel: (703) 518-6256

International Reading Association (IRA)
Diane E. Kern
dkern@reading.org
Tel: (401) 874-9490

International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE)
Christopher Johnson
cgj@email.arizona.edu
Tel: (520) 991-7304

Carolyn Sykora
csykora@iste.org
Tel: (541) 349-7572

International Technology And Enginerring Educators Assn. Council on Technology Teacher Education (ITEEA/CTTE)
Paul Post
post.1@osu.edu
Tel: (614) 292-7471

National Association for Sport & Physical Education (NASPE)
Yasmeen Taji-Farouki
YTaji-Farouki@shapeamerica.org
Tel: 703-476-3400

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
Pamela G. Ehrenberg
pehrenberg@naeyc.org
Tel: (202) 232-8777 x8826

Marica Mitchell
mmitchell@naeyc.org
Tel: (202) 232-8826

National Association of Gifted Children (NAGC)
Jane Clarenbach
janec@nagc.org
Tel: (202) 785-4268

National Association of School Psychologists (NASP)
Enedina García Vázquez
nasppab@nmsu.edu
Tel: (575) 646-9601

National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)
Brandie K. Benton
bentonb@hsu.edu
Tel: (870) 230-5203

Leah T. Engelhardt
leah.engelhardt@okstate.edu
Tel: (405) 880-1216

National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
Paul L. Yoder
pyoder@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785-4502

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
Judy O'Neal
joneal@northgeorgia.edu
Tel: (404) 406-4193

National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)
Jeanelle B. Day
dayj@easternct.edu
Tel: (860) 933-5738

William R. Veal
veaLw@cofc.edu
Tel: (843) 953-8045

North American Association for Environmental Education (NAAEE)
Bora Simmons
borasimmons@gmail.com
Tel: (541) 343-0714

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)
Diane Staehr Fenner
dstaehrfenner@tesol.org
Tel: (703) 282-7393


 Print